Mandated Reporters - CPS - MDHHS During a Sex Crime Investigation in Michigan
In the state of Michigan, professionals that work closely with children under the age of 18 are mandated by law to file a report with CPS if they suspect a child is in danger of abuse or neglect. Failure to do so may result in large fines, jail time, or both. If you're a mandated reporter that has failed to report abuse or neglect, it is crucial to contact a defense attorney as soon as you learn you are under investigation. A CPS lawyer in Michigan will help you prove your innocence and protect your future as you strive to move on from an investigation.
The Grabel & Associates team has been working on criminal cases in the state of Michigan for over 15 years. Our attorneys are passionate about defending those who are facing false allegations and will do everything in their power to ensure our clients have a fair shot at justice. If you need help navigating your mandatory reporter case, please reach out to us. We're willing to step in at any stage to battle on your behalf and prove your innocence.
Mandatory Reporters in Michigan
In most states, mandated reporting laws are limited to those who work in close contact with children. If you work as any of the following, you should review your role as a mandated reporter to ensure you are able to perform your legal obligations.
- Social Workers
- Mental Health Professionals
- Medical Examiners
- Health Care Providers
- Law Enforcement
- School Staff
- Child Care Providers
Mandated reporters must call CPS if they have reason to suspect a child has been harmed or is in danger of being harmed. Failure to do so is a crime in the state of Michigan.
Upon receiving a report of abuse or neglect, a CPS worker will thoroughly review the details of the case to determine if an investigation is warranted. If the CPS worker decides the case needs to be looked into, he or she will begin an investigation within 24 hours of receiving the initial call. An investigation typically consists of interviews, a home visit, a doctor checkup, and an assessment to determine the family's strengths and weaknesses.
Sex Crimes is Child Abuse and Neglect in Michigan
Abuse and neglect are used to refer to a wide range of actions (or lack of actions) that cause harm to a child. For example, a parent or guardian could be charged with abuse or neglect if they fail to provide adequate health care, and they could be charged with abuse or neglect if they physically harm their child. As a mandated reporter, it is important to have a firm grasp on the warning signs of abuse or neglect, so you can perform your duties to the best of your abilities and protect the innocent and vulnerable in your life.
Sex crimes are common causes of abuse or neglect investigations in Michigan and are often difficult to recognize. A child does not have to be physically abused to be harmed by a sex crime. If a parent or guardian simply exposes their child to the explicit content, they could face abuse and neglect charges on top of sex crime charges.
Defending Mandated Reporters in Michigan
Because abuse and neglect take so many different forms, it can be easy to miss the warning signs. At Grabel & Associates, we believe that no one should be penalized for an honest mistake or misunderstanding. In many cases, mandated reporters already feel the weight of failing to help a child in danger or putting undeserved stress on a family and do not need the added pressure of a criminal case. If you're a mandated reporter that has failed to report on abuse or neglect, reach out to our firm today. Our talented staff will do everything they can to put you on track to receiving a fair outcome in your case. We'll take the necessary steps to help you maintain employment and make it easier for you to move on after your charges have been sorted out. The sooner you connect with us, the easier it is for us to assist you. Don't hesitate to reach out and take charge of your future. Pick up the phone and call us today.
Contact Us for 24/7 Criminal Defense in Michigan
Reaching our team is simple and entirely risk-free. Just dial 1-800-677-9795 or fill out our online contact form and you'll receive a free initial case consultation from a skilled member of our staff. Upon receiving advice, you'll have the option to get connected with an attorney that has worked on similar cases before. This will give you an advantage as you battle for the best available results. If you're facing accusations and want to prove that you did not purposefully ignore signs of abuse or neglect, pick up the phone right now and connect with us.