Suspected Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting - CPS – MDHHS During a Sex Crime Investigation in Michigan
Sex crimes involving children are very serious. There are laws in place in Michigan to protect children from the harm a sex crime can cause, and severe penalties for those who fail to act in accordance with these laws. The mandatory reporters’ law is one example of legislation enacted to protect individuals under the age of 18. It requires certain professionals to report any signs of child abuse or neglect, including signs of sex crimes involving children. If a mandated reporter fails to file a report with CPS, he or she may face large fines, jail time or both.
If you are a professional that is required to report, learning to recognize the signs of child abuse and neglect is a good way to live up to your legal obligations and avoid the serious penalties that may result from failure to report. If you've been accused of failing to report a child’s welfare during a sex crime, hire a CPS defense attorney as soon as possible to start building your case.
Professionals Required to Report Suspected Child Abuse in Michigan
While the list of mandated reporters varies state by state, the following professionals are almost always required to report signs of abuse or neglect.
- Social Workers
- Mental Health Professionals
- Medical Examiners
- Law Enforcement
- Child Care Providers
Some states require that anyone who suspects abuse or neglect report. Knowing the laws in your state will help you do your part in protecting the children in your life.
When you report suspected child abuse or neglect, a CPS worker will review the details you have provided and decide if an investigation is warranted. If they have adequate reason to believe a child is in danger, an investigation will begin within 24 hours of receiving your call. An investigation typically consists of interviews, a home visit, a doctor appointment and an assessment of risk and potential risk. If the CPS worker determines the child is at risk or has been at risk, he or she could file to have the child temporarily removed from the home.
Failure to Report Child Abuse and Neglect in Michigan
If a child you are in contact with is exhibiting signs of abuse or neglect and you fail to file a report with CPS, you could face criminal charges in Michigan, provided you are a mandated reporter. You'll need an attorney to help you battle back and prove your innocence. Hiring a skilled team of attorneys is the first step in avoiding life-altering penalties, such as substantial fines and jail time. You lawyer will review every detail of your case and look for ways to prove that you were not aware that the child was in danger of any kind. The earlier you get legal representation involved, the better your chances are of receiving a favorable outcome.
The Grabel & Associates team has been working in Michigan law for over 15 years and understands what is at stake in your case. If you need help navigating your failure to report case, contact us as soon as you learn you are under investigation.
Mandatory Reporter Cases in Michigan
If you have been accused of failure to report, contacting us is the first step in proving in your innocence. We understand that you may already feel a tremendous weight for missing the signs of abuse or neglect and do not need the added trauma of criminal charges hanging over your head. If you contact or a loved one needs help taking your life back, pick up the phone or fill out our online contact form today.
Members of our staff are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to take your call and provide you with a free initial case consultation. If you choose to partner with us, you'll be connected with an attorney that has ample experience working on failure to report cases. He or she will have a thorough understanding of Michigan sex crime laws and mandated reporter laws, putting you one step closer to earning the best outcome possible in your case.
Contact Us for 24/7 Representation
Getting in touch with our talented team is simple. Just pick up the phone and dial our toll-free number, anytime day or night. Receiving a free initial case consultation is the first step in your fight for freedom. Call 1-800-677-9795 to take control of your future.