Is There a Statute of Limitations When It Comes to Sexual Abuse of a Minor?

A statute of limitations outlines how long after an alleged offense a person can file charges. In child sex abuse cases, there can be a statute of limitations, however in serious cases charges may be filed at any time. Although designed to protect victims of child abuse, the absence of a statute of limitations in 1st degree Criminal Sexual Conduct cases can lead to wrongful conviction, as memories of events change or develop over time. Grabel & Associates sex crimes attorneys work with clients accused of sexually related offenses in Michigan, and will investigate every detail of child sex abuse cases to ensure clients are protected from wrongful conviction or excessive punishment. Our Professional attorneys have extensive experience in sexual assault and child molestation cases, and can effectively defend you inside and outside the courtroom throughout every stage of your case.

CSC Attorneys Defending Sex Crimes Clients in Lansing, Detroit, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, and Throughout Michigan

Work with a lawyer now to guard against prison time, fines, community service, and sex offender registration. If you are accused of sexual abuse of a child, speak to an attorney as soon as possible so that you know your rights are properly protected and fully used to your advantage. In criminal cases that occurred a long time ago, it can be very difficult to find evidence against the alleged defendant, and oftentimes evidence arises from investigative questioning. Our lawyers know how stressful police interrogation can be and understand you can say things you don’t mean or be misunderstood while attempting to clear your name. Instead of trying to prove your innocence, don’t speak with police but rather contact Grabel & Associates right away. Our lawyers will work with you to prove you did not sexually abuse a minor in Michigan, and we know the strategies that are effective in sex crime cases.

Statute of Limitations for 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Degree CSC in Michigan

In cases of criminal sexual conduct in the second, third, or fourth degree, there is a statute of limitations as stated in the Michigan Code of Criminal Procedure. Cases involving sexual contact with a person under the age of 13, or any penetration or contact with a person between the ages of 13 and 16, have to be found and filed within 10 years after the offense, or by the alleged victim’s 21st birthday, whichever comes later. If there is new DNA evidence that identifies an individual in a case, the case can be filed within 10 years of that identification, or by the alleged victim’s 21st birthday.

Charges of 2nd, 3rd, and 4th degree sex abuse of a minor are extremely serious, and could result in lengthy prison sentences and life changing sex offender registration. Work with the criminal defense team at Grabel & Associates now and fight back against police and prosecutors who will be working to convict you.

Statute of Limitations for 1st Degree CSC charges

Charges of criminal sexual conduct in the first degree occur when a person engages in sexual penetration with a minor under 13 years of age, or if a person engages in sexual penetration with a minor between the ages of 13 and 16 where special conditions exist, for example if the two are related or the alleged perpetrator is in a position of authority over the minor. In the Code of Criminal Procedure, 1st degree CSC charges are included with murder charges and anti-terrorism laws as violations for which there is no statute of limitations. This means that charges can be filed at any time, regardless of how long it has been since the alleged sexual abuse. When significant time has passed after an alleged event, details of alleged actions are prone to change or even be manufactured, and our lawyers will look at the details of your case to determine how to best defend your rights. Contact Grabel & Associates immediately for sex crime representation in any of the state’s 83 counties.

Our Approach to MI Child Sex Abuse Charges

As soon as you are accused of sex abuse of a minor, it might seem like everyone is against you, and oftentimes police, prosecutors, and juries will already believe you are guilty before any details are presented. Our lawyers will stand with you throughout investigation and trial, and will aggressively fight to help you achieve the best possible case result. We will review every detail of your case and help you implement the most effective legal strategies, designed with your legal goals in mind.

If you need a sexual abuse of a minor defense lawyer, contact the respected team at Grabel & Associates. We have proven our criminal defense skill in past cases, and our lawyers combine for over 100 years of legal experience. Don’t hesitate to hire an excellent sex crime defense attorney to represent you in your case, we are available 24/7 to begin defending you anywhere in Michigan.

Contact Scott Grabel Michigan Child Molestation Lawyer

Call our sex crime defense team now at 1-800-677-9795 and speak to a qualified analyst about the statute of limitations in your criminal case. You can also contact us online and ask to set up a free consultation with trial lawyer Scott Grabel if you have been charged with a crime or if you think you could be accused of a crime in the future. Work with the best possible defense team and protect against life changing penalties; contact Scott Grabel and our skilled criminal defense team now.